top of page

About Us

Welcome to Brisbane Amateur Beekeepers Society Inc.,  a community of passionate beekeepers in Brisbane. We are dedicated to promoting and supporting the art of beekeeping in the local area. Our members range from beginners to experienced beekeepers, and we welcome anyone who shares our love for these amazing insects. Our society offers a range of resources, including workshops, mentorship programs, and access to local honey and beekeeping supplies. Join us in our mission to protect and preserve our local bee populations.


The Society was established it the late 1959, to provide amateur beekeepers with an opportunity to meet regularly, to exchange knowledge and experience about this fascinating hobby.

Why Beekeeping is Important

Beekeeping is a crucial practice for maintaining healthy bee populations and preserving the environment. As pollinators, bees play a vital role in our ecosystem, and without them, many of our favorite fruits and vegetables would not exist. By supporting local beekeeping initiatives, we can help protect these important insects and ensure a sustainable future for our community.

The Aim

  • To provide members with opportunities to learn more about beekeeping.

  • To keep members informed of the latest developments and information.

  • To provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and knowledge based on practical experience, with a view to promoting better beekeeping practices.

  • To provide opportunities for members to socialise with like-minded people.

What We Do

Brisbane Amateur Beekeepers Society Inc. is dedicated to promoting and supporting the art of beekeeping throughout South East Queensland. We offer a range of resources and programs designed to help beekeepers of all levels improve their skills and knowledge. From workshops and mentorship programs to access to local honey and beekeeping supplies, we are committed to providing our members with the resources they need to succeed. Join us today and become a part of our thriving beekeeping community.

The Board

President: Ryan Matthewman

Vice President: Craig Turner

Treasurer: Des Lyons

Secretary: Chris Charrington

bottom of page